Christian Fantasy Books

Christian Fantasy Books

Can Christians read fantasy books? Are there any Christian Fantasy Books? My answer to both question is yes, depending upon the book. One of my favorite fantasy series for myself and my children is The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I love the Lord of the Rings. I’m secure enough in my faith, not to be upset about fantasy creatures. I know they aren’t real and they have never caused me to turn from my faith in Jesus. However, I also respect the views of those who do not believe that Christians should read fantasy. If that is your belief, then please feel free to skip this blog.

There are so many Christian Fantasy books that I can’t list all of them here. I have a friend who writes Christian Fantasy Books and so do I. His are very different from mine but are best sellers and include the gospel of Jesus in them. My Christian Fantasy books are geared more toward tweens, teens and young adults. However, adults enjoy them also. Most of the characters have accepted Christ as their Savior. There are Elves, Dwarfs and Fairies in them who all love Jesus.

I know that some Christians do not believe in reading or watching any type of fantasy and I respect your beliefs. I’m not here to try to persuade anyone to believe like I do.

Christian Fantasy Books

You can purchase one book or the entire series on Amazon.
I am not an Amazon affiliate and receive no income from this link.

Instead, for those like me, who love fantasy, fairy tales and christian fantasy books, I want to share some good ones with you. Brae Wyckoff, founder of Kingdom Writer’s Association has written a 3-books series called the Horn King Series. The series is fantasy that include fantasy creatures challenged to hold onto their faith.

Mountain of Gold: The Adventures of Bridazak and Friends can be purchased on Amazon

Brae Wyckoff also writes fantasy for children. Mountain of Gold is the first in a series. Brae says this, “The Mountain of Gold teaches children about kindness, friendship, the value of who they are, and the value of others. There is no fighting or weapons. It is suitable for ages 2 and up.”

Other Books

Dead Fairy Tales – Into the Battle – is the first in a series. As you will see below, this series is suitable for tweens and older. Violence is implied and some characters die but there is no graphic violence. Children are often exposed to graphic violence but the goal of Dead Fairy Tales is to acknowledge the life and death struggles we all encounter while demonstrating victory over evil. Faith prevails and evil is never glorified.

Guess who else writes Christian fantasy? I do. I have published my first book in a 3-part series. Book 1 is called Dead Fairy Tales: Into the Battle and Book 2, Sanctuary is below. They are suitable for tweens and up. The inhabitants of the Colony living in Bellrow, Idaho encounter enemies who wish to kill them for their faith. But the Dwarfs, Elves, Fairies and other creatures there have rejected violence. Using only special powers they have been born with, they fight the enemy of their souls as their faith grows stronger.

The characters from the Bellrow Colony continue to grow in their faith as they battle evil. Birdie undergoes a tremendous transformation. Other characters old and new will draw you into victory, loss, spiritual warfare, and personal struggles. Click below to purchase on Amazon.

I have published three other books:

Loss occurs in ministry and life but we can find victory after loss. Purchase on Amazon.

How to Win After Loss is Book 1 of the “How To” Series. We all experience loss in some area of life. However, loss of a loved one, loss of vision, loss of ministry, or position, loss of friends can be hard to overcome. In this book, I share the things that helped me to Win after loss in every one of those areas.

A Tale of Redemption after John Campbell, a Pastor, loses his way and is found again by the God of love. Purchase on Amazon

The Gift of Christmas – A Tale of Redemption is about a pastor who loses his faith and his way in life, but God finds him and pours out His healing love.

David, a man after God’s own heart, has given us the tools to renew and restore our own hearts and to have a heart after God.

A Heart After God – How to Renew Your Heart – uses the life of David to show you how to cleanse and renew your heart so that it is a Heart After God like David’s own heart. Using scripture, journaling, and prompts to help you pray and find renewal, your heart will be made new in Christ.

Christian Fantasy and Fairy Tales

Now, back to Christian Fantasy Books. C.S. Lewis and J.R. Tolkien are probably two of the most famous Christian Fantasy writers. While C.S. Lewis never intended for the series starting with The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe to be an allegory, it became one. In fact, neither did Tolkien and here is his opinion about allegories:

I cordially dislike allegory in all its manifestations, and always have done so since I grew old and wary enough to detect its presence. I much prefer history – true or feigned– with its varied applicability to the thought and experience of readers. I think that many confuse applicability with allegory, but the one resides in the freedom of the reader, and the other in the purposed domination of the author.” J.R.R. Tolkien
J.R.R. Tolkien – The Fellowship of the Rings

However, for both men, their incredible books became allegories through “the freedom of the reader.” I used The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe series as teaching tools for my children. I read them out loud to my sons and then we talked about the ways to see Jesus and the Word in these Christian Fantasy Books.

I’m sure you’re wondering why I haven’t included the Harry Potter series. Many christians took great issue with these books. While I have read and enjoyed them, I am not going to promote them. They do not fit the category of Christian Fantasy Books or Christian Fantasy. They do fit into the category of Fairy Tales, but do not have the elements of faith that most would expect to see in Christian books.

Ted Rachel Dekker have written a series called “And They Found Dragons.” It is a fantasy book set in the future as a young boy learns about the ancient teachings about Yeshua. You can purchase the series by Clicking Here. The books below can be purchased by clicking on the title.

Here is a list of ten more Christian Fantasy Books:

Each of these books features a worldview influenced by Christian faith.

Christian Fantasy Books

Christian Fantasy Books

There are literally hundreds of Christian fantasy books and I can’t list them all. I hope you see that, if you love Christian fantasy, there are many to choose from.

I am not an Amazon Affiliate. I receive income from the sales of my books but not from books written by other authors.

Creative imagination is gift from God who had the ultimate creative mind? While we need to make sure that whatever Christian fantasy we put into our hearts and minds is wholesome and delivers a message of Christian hope and love, we can enjoy the creativity of others and the myriad ways they express faith.

I hope you enjoy these books and see Christ in each one. You might also enjoy reading – God’s Gift of Creative Imagination.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.